Illusions, Baby Steps, Safety: Where Norm and Law Lack

I recently had few occasions where, in small working groups, we faced existential questions regarding where we (and whether can we) move on and recover from crises of trust within the group. Usually, this is the role of norms and laws. However, the groups I’m involved with have to do with places and times where law and norms tend to fail, lack, or being critically researched.

Whenever law (in its broad term) lacks or fails, we need to build new bridges for confidence, in order to live and work together. Some of the groups I’m in, whether political or research groups, succeed in this. Others failed, miserably, or made their lives far more difficult in approaching this issue.

Trust and confidence are illusions, just as law and norm are. They break, change, and people get hurt in the process. It’s inevitable. It’s a part of life. In one of the groups the question rose: should we dive into that breach of confidence to reconstruct the trust, or should we continue and develop other means of trust by work? Since I don’t tend to see trust as a linear/binary process I was in favor of the later process (though I don’t think they inherently contradict each other).

Both approaches deal with lacks in norms and laws that were there to begin with might be wrong. I don’t know. All I know is that some great and crucial groups suffer, and that people tend to forget that trust might be an illusion, but it’s also something we define by ourselves, on a daily basis.


About this entry